Loading Events

« All Events

Gandhi Day Celebration 2021- ONLINE

October 2, 2021, @ 5:30 am - 7:30 am HST

|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on October 2, 2021, at 2:00 pm

Saturday, October 2, 2021

5:30 – 7:30am HST Hawaii Time/ 8:30-10:30am PST/ 11:30am-1:30pm EST
(21:00-23:00 IST-India time)
AND
2:00 – 4:00pm HST Hawaii Time/ 5:00-7:00pm PST/ 8:00-10:00pm EST
(Oct 3 5:30-7:30am IST- India time)

FREE

“The human voice can never reach the distance that is covered by the still small voice of conscience.” – Mahatma Gandhi

Join Still & Moving Center and the Gandhi International Institute for Peace (GIIP) in celebrating Mahatma Gandhi’s 152nd birthday! Both of these organizations extend our operations out from Honolulu to the wider world to honor this global leader. Gandhi taught us in words and most powerfully by example to live mindfully, nonviolently, in harmony with one another, listening to what he called our “still, small voice of conscience”. 

Join us to move, to meditate, to listen and be inspired! 

Just announced- Keynote speakers:
Tushar A. Gandhi (great grandson of Mahatma Gandhi)
and
Audrey E. Kitagawa, JD

We look forward to hearing from Professor Ramdas Lamb (in the Religion Department of UH Manao), Professor Marc Jason Gilbert (Director of Southeast Asia programs, University Georgia) and Hawaii Representative Matthew LoPresti (Chair of the Asian Studies Program, Hawai’i Pacific University), Professor Veena Howard (Gandhi scholar, Fresno State University), Dr. Kahu Kaleo Patterson as well as GIIP Founder & President Emeritus, Raj Kumar

Expect to participate in a guided meditation with Miku Lenentine, as well as enjoy mantra, dance and music by Zeny Ogrisseg, Willow Chang, Baba Doc Gibbs and Roger Sinha

Full biographies of our speakers and performers

You will be engaging in a worldwide and island-wide event. The United Nations General Assembly – on June 15, 2007 – established Mahatma Gandhi’s birth anniversary, October 2, as the annual International Day of Nonviolence. Then in 2015, the Hawaii state Senate and the House unanimously passed a bill that Governor David Y. Ige signed, officially establishing October 2 as MK Gandhi Day in Hawaii. This will be GIIP’s 16th annual hosting of the Gandhi Day event, usually held under the Mahatma Gandhi statue in Kapiolani Park, Honolulu.

This webinar is directed by Neelanthi Vadivel

Let’s come together and each tune into our inner voice calling us to bring peace to this world.“Everyone who wills can hear the inner voice. It is within everyone.”  – Mahatma Gandhi

Get the Still & Moving App

Details

Date:
October 2, 2021,
Time:
5:30 am - 7:30 am
HST
Event Categories:
,

Venue

Global
HI United States